Home /  Careers  /  Compass Exam


JUVENILE CORRECTIONAL OFFICER 1 TESTING INFORMATION

Per O.C.G.A. § 35-8-8(a) (8), applicants who are not P.O.S.T. Certified must pass a job related Academy Entrance Exam prior to applying for a Law Enforcement (JCO 1) position with the Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice. The Department of Juvenile Justice adheres to these standards in their entirety.

Post Entrance Exam

Effective January 1, 2009, the P.O.S.T. Council adopted the ASSET or COMPASS exam as the official P.O.S.T. Entrance Exam for law enforcement candidates. The ASSET or COMPASS exams are administered through the Technical College System of Georgia.

The COMPASS exam is a computer-based exam that provides immediate results. The ASSET exam is a paper and pencil version that will provide results in approximately 10 business days. Both of these exams measure reading, writing and numerical skills*. Applicants obtaining a passing score on the P.O.S.T. Entrance Exam may be considered for P.O.S.T. certified positions within the Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice. Passing scores as of January 2012 for the ASSET and COMPASS exam are as follows:

Test Portion ASSET COMPASS
Reading 38 70
Writing 35 32

There is a fee of $15.00 - $25.00 to take either of these exams. The fee is payable at the exam location.

Applicants who do not pass may register to retake the exam after 30 days.

P.O.S.T. Entrance Exam Testing Locations

A listing of online locations of Technical Colleges throughout Georgia.

P.O.S.T. Entrance Exam Access Form

  • You must take a completed copy of the P.O.S.T. Examination Access Form with you to take the test. Click here to access the form.

  • For additional POST Information, please visit Georgia POST.

Additional Information

COMPASS testing information is available here , click on the tab labeled "For Students" to view test taking tips and sample questions.

Applicants may also submit a transcript that contains the ACT or SAT test scores to convert in lieu of taking the ASSET or COMPASS exam. The acceptable scores on the ACT or SAT are as follows:

Test Portion ACT SAT
Verbal 18 430
Math 16 400

*P.O.S.T. does not require a passing score on the numerical portion of the exam; however, the completion of the numerical portion is required to receive a score. The numeric score does not determine successful passing of the test.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

1. What is the COMPASS Test?

The Official Code of Georgia (O.C.G.A 35-8-8) requires that each candidate for peace officer certification, including correctional officers, to successfully complete a job related academy entrance examination approved by the POST Council in conformity with state and federal law. Since January 1, 2009, the POST Council adopted the COMPASS exam as the office POST Entrance Exam. Specifically the COMPASS exam is a computer based test which will measure the competencies of Reading, Writing and Numerical abilities.

2. Where can I take the COMPASS test?

The Technical Colleges in Georgia offer the COMPASS test by reservation.

3. How do I register for the COMPASS test?

You will need to make a reservation at any of the Technical Colleges in Georgia. For a listing of colleges in your area, please go to online locations.

4. Is there a charge/fee to take the test?

Yes, approximately $15.00-$25.00 payable to the Technical College.

5. How long does it take to receive my results?

Results are known immediately upon completion of the test.

6. How long are my scores valid?

No expiration time.

7. When can I retake the COMPASS test?

A waiting period of 30 days is required before you can retake the exam.

8. What do I need to take with me to the exam site?

You need to take with you a completed copy of the P.O.S.T. Examination Access Form. Click here to access the form. The COMPASS test is electronic and is scored on the computer. You may also bring with you a calculator for the numerical portion of the test.

9. What is the passing score?
Test Portion ASSET COMPASS
Reading 38 70
Writing 35 32
10. Are any other standardized tests acceptable such as SAT or ACT?
Test Sub-Test Scaled Score
SAT Verbal or Critical Reading 430
Math 400
ACT Verbal or English & Reading 18
Math 16
CPE Reading 75
Math 75
English 75
11. How can I find more information about taking the test?

Visit here , click on the tab labeled "For Students" to view testing tips and sample questions.

12. What should I do once I have completed the test?

Submit your COMPASS test scores along with the State of Georgia application to your local DJJ Youth Detention Center or Regional Youth Detention Campus or fax both to (404) 508-7286.

   
 

   Quick Links
PARENTS/GUARDIANS
Why parents are important
What is an RYDC and YDC
FAQ
Visitor Information
DJJ Ombudsman
 PARENT RESOURCES
VICTIMS
About Victim Services
Victim Notification and Services
Forms and Publications
Help Us To Improve
 VICTIMS RESOURCES
ABOUT US
Overview
How DJJ is Organized
About the Commissioner
About the Board
 MORE ABOUT US



Click here to view GEMA Emergency Phone App.  


 

Subscribe to our newsletter to stay current with the latest DJJ news and announcements.

 
 

HOME   |   FACILITIES/PROGRAMS  |   RESOURCE LIBRARY  |   CAREERS  |   VICTIMS  |   ABOUT US  |   EMPLOYEES  |   NEWS AND VIEWS  |   PARENTS & GUARDIANS  |   CONTACT US    
 
3408 Covington Highway - Decatur, GA - 30032
(click here for Directions)
Phone: 404-508-6500 / Fax: 404-508-7289
Copyright © . All rights reserved by Georgia Department of Juvenile Justice. (WF53F)
DJJ DJJ RSS DJJ Facebook DJJ Twitter DJJ Youtube Click here to open 'Team Georgia website'.