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I. POLICY: 

The Department of Juvenile Justice shall administer annual, sick, and personal leave in 
accordance with applicable laws, rules, and regulations. To be a responsible steward of public 
funds, however, the State must account for any pay provided to employees for time not worked.  
Paid time off must be charged to appropriate paid leave, accumulated compensatory time, paid 
holiday time or suspension with pay. 

II. DEFINITIONS: 

Annual Leave: Accrued paid leave an employee may use for any reason. 

Break in Service: At least one work day for which an employee is not in employment status 
and does not receive pay. 

Divested Sick Leave: Any employee of a state agency who lost accumulated sick leave 
because of separation from employment and who returns to employment with a state agency on 
or after July 1, 2003 will be entitled to regain such divested sick leave after the employee 
remains in service for a period of two consecutive years. 

Employee Self Service: A website available to employees through the Team Georgia 
Connection that allows employees to access and update personal employment information. 

Forfeited Leave: Annual leave accrued in excess of 360 hours and/or sick leave accrued in 
excess of 720 hours that may be restored upon request of employee subject to approval of the 
Office of Human Resources. 

Immediate Family: For the purposes of this policy, the employee’s spouse, child, step-child, 
parent, step-parent, grandparent, grandchild, brother and sister and in-laws. Immediate family 
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also includes any other person who resides in the employee’s household and is recognized by 
law as a dependent of the employee. 

Personal Leave: Employees who have accumulated more than 120 hours of sick leave as of 
November 30th of any year may convert up to 24 hours of the accumulation in excess of the 
120 hours to personal leave to use for reasons other than illness. 

Sick Leave: Accrued paid leave an employee use for personal illness or to care for an 
immediate family member as defined in this policy with illness or injury.   

Special Situations of Illness and/or Disability: Any injury that arises out of or in the course 
of employment of an employee who regularly works 30 hours or more each week. Commuting 
to and from work will not be considered in the line of duty. (See DJJ 3.28, Injury in the Line of 
Duty.) 

Terminal Leave: Accrued annual leave for which payment is due upon an employee’s 
separation from employment for any reason. 

III. GENERAL PROVISIONS: 

A. This policy applies to classified and unclassified employees with the following 
exceptions: 

1. Part-time salaried employees who work less than twenty (20) hours per week; 

2. Temporary and hourly paid employees; and 

3. Employees receiving service, disability, or involuntary separation benefits under 
the Employees’ Retirement System of Georgia. 

B. Use of Leave: 

1. DJJ will not grant an employee the use of annual or sick leave before such leave 
is earned or converted, as provided for in this policy. 

2. Supervisors will not approve the use of leave until all available deferred holiday 
time and Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) compensatory time have been 
exhausted. 

3. Employee absences will be charged as leave only on days that they would 
otherwise work and receive pay.  Prior authorized sick leave will not be reduced 
because of late openings, early releases, or unanticipated closings that occur 
during the period of leave. 

4. An employee absent on official department business will not be charged leave 
for a work-related absence. 
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5. Except as specified for certain injuries incurred in the line of duty, an employee 
will not be allowed to use any type of paid leave if he/she receives any form of 
state funded wage substitutes, including, but not limited to Workers’ 
Compensation. 

C. Credit for Leave on Return from Leave of Absence, Furlough, or Layoff: 

A DJJ employee, upon returning from a leave of absence without pay, furlough, or upon 
returning to the Department within one year of being laid off by means of a reduction in 
force, will be given credit for previously accumulated and unused annual and sick leave.  
The record of forfeited leave at the time of a layoff or at the beginning of the leave of 
absence will be re-established, but the leave will not be restored to the employee except 
as provided for in Section VII of this policy. 

D. Dual Employment: 

In circumstances in which a part-time salaried employee is simultaneously employed in 
more than one position entitled to earn leave, the employee will, independently in each 
position, accrue, use, and be compensated for leave in accordance with applicable 
provisions of this policy.  The provisions of this paragraph will not apply if the 
employee is simultaneously employed in two positions in the same department. If 
employment is terminated in one, but not both positions, all leave accrual will be 
combined and available in the remaining position.  Employment in another agency is 
subject to the approval of DJJ (see DJJ 3.16, Other Employment). 

E. Credit for Leave upon Transferring to the Department of Juvenile Justice: 

1. Provided there is no break in service, an employee transferring from a position 
entitled to earn leave in another state agency or department to a position entitled 
to earn leave in DJJ will be given credit for unused annual, sick and personal 
leave. The record of forfeited leave of an employee transferring to DJJ will be 
transferred, but such leave will not be restored to the employee except as 
provided for in this policy. 

2. Provided there is no break in service, an employee moving from a position 
entitled to earn leave in a state authority to a position entitled to earn leave in 
DJJ will be given credit for unused annual/sick and unpaid annual leave only if 
they have the same leave accrual system. The employee shall not be given credit 
for more leave than the employee could have earned had the employee been 
continuously employed by DJJ. The record of forfeited leave of an employee 
transferring to DJJ will be transferred, but such leave will not be restored to the 
employee except as provided for in Section VII of this policy. 

3. An employee transferring to DJJ from another agency is not entitled to payment 
for accumulated annual leave from that agency.  If the employee erroneously 
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received payment for such leave, the employee will not be permitted to accrue or 
use annual, sick, or personal leave until the other agency is reimbursed for the 
erroneous payment.  Once DJJ receives confirmation that the reimbursement has 
occurred, the employee will receive credit with all leave and service time that 
would have otherwise have accrued to the employee.  DJJ will not reimburse an 
employee for any leave without pay that may have occurred during the period 
before receiving notification from the other agency. 

4. An individual moving from a position with a public-school system or the Board 
of Regents to a position in DJJ will not receive credit for any annual, sick, 
personal or forfeited leave earned while employed by the public-school system 
or Board of Regents. 

IV. ANNUAL LEAVE 

A. Annual Leave Accrual: 

1. Eligible full-time employees will earn annual leave as follows: 

a) Employees with up to 60 months (inclusive) of service will earn 5 hours 
per pay period for a total of 10 hours per month. 

b) Employees with 61 through 120 (inclusive) months of service will earn 6 
hours per pay period for a total of 12 hours per month. 

c) Employees with 121 or more months of service will earn 7 hours per pay 
period for a total of 14 hours per month. 

2. A full-time employee will earn leave as specified at the end of each pay period, 
provided that the employee is in pay status for at least 40 hours during the pay 
period. 

3. A part-time salaried employee who works 20 or more hours per week will earn 
leave as specified at the end of each pay period. The amount of leave earned and 
the amount of required time in pay status will be prorated by the percentage of 
time worked. The percentage of worked will be determined by dividing the 
employee’s standard hours by 40.   

4. Length of service will be computed from current continuous, unbroken service 
in a position entitled to earn leave with a state agency or state authority.  Time 
worked with a public-school system or Board of Regents is not creditable 
service for graduated annual leave accumulation. 

5. No more than 360 hours of annual leave may be accumulated. Any leave earned 
in excess of 360 hours at the end of any pay period will be forfeited, but may be 
restored to the employee as provided in Section VII of this policy. 
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B. Use of Annual Leave: 

1. Employees may request the use of accrued annual leave for any reason, using 
the DJJ approved methods to request leave (e.g., Leave Request Form 
[Attachment A] or through Kronos). Under normal circumstances, an employee 
will request annual leave as far in advance of the need for such leave as is 
reasonably possible. 

2. Annual leave should be approved in advance by the employee’s immediate 
supervisor, unless an emergency prevents prior approval. Supervisors should 
make reasonable efforts to promptly respond to and accommodate leave 
requests, but must consider workloads, work unit coverage, and other job related 
factors when scheduling leave. 

3. Approved annual leave may be rescinded prior to being utilized, if necessary, to 
ensure necessary work unit and/or work load coverage. 

4. Absence without proper approval will be charged to Unauthorized Leave 
without Pay.  (See DJJ 3.67, Leave without Pay and Furlough.) 

5. Excessive or abusive leave practices (whether it is annual or sick leave abuse) 
may subject an employee to disciplinary action, up to and including termination. 

6. DJJ reserves the right to utilize annual leave accruals to recoup overpayments, 
failure to return state issued equipment, travel advances or any other monies 
owed to the agency. 

C. Payment for Accrued Annual Leave When on Leave without Pay: 

Employees, who are granted a leave of absence without pay for at least thirty 
(30) calendar days, may be paid in lump sum for all accrued and unused annual 
leave that has not been forfeited, up to a maximum of 360 hours.  

V. TERMINAL LEAVE: 

A. Terminal Leave Pay:  

1. When a separation date has been established to permit the employee to be paid 
terminal leave, the pay status of the employee will not be extended for granting 
a holiday or unanticipated non-workday occurring after the last day in pay 
status. 

2. When an employee notifies his/her immediate supervisor of his/her intent to 
leave employment, the employee will not be continued on the payroll in leave 
with pay status for the purpose of increasing the current salary, increasing the 
rate of leave accrual, or the rate at which accrued leave would be paid. 
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(Example: an employee notifies the agency in December of intent to resign 
effective January 15 and requests paid leave for the entire first January pay 
period.  Annual salary increases are scheduled to be awarded effective January.) 

3. DJJ will pay terminal leave for all accrued and unused annual leave that has not 
been forfeited, not to exceed 360 hours. 

4. DJJ will calculate terminal leave pay in accordance with applicable State 
Personnel Board Rules. 

5. An employee who separates from DJJ to accept a position with a state authority 
or the Board of Regents without a break in service will be paid terminal leave 
pay not to exceed 360 hours for any annual leave that cannot be transferred with 
the employee to the new position; provided, however, such payment will not be 
made except upon satisfactory evidence that the employee cannot receive credit 
from the new employer for the leave. 

6. An employee will not earn any entitlement to compensation for sick leave 
unused at the time of separation from employment. 

VI. SICK LEAVE 

A. Sick Leave Accrual: 

1. Full-time employee will earn 5 hours of sick leave at the end of each semi-
monthly pay period, provided the employee is in pay status for at least 40 hours 
during the pay period. 

2. A part-time salaried employee who works 20 or more hours per week will earn 
leave as specified at the end of each pay period. The amount of leave earned and 
the amount of required time in pay status will be prorated by the percentage of 
time worked. The percentage of time worked will be determined by dividing the 
employee’s standard hours by 40.   

3. An employee may accumulate no more than 720 hours of sick leave.  Any sick 
leave earned in excess of 720 hours at the end of any month will be forfeited, 
but may be restored to the employee as provided in Section VII of this policy. 

B. Use of Sick Leave: 

1. Upon approval of the immediate supervisor, an employee may use accrued sick 
leave for absences due to the following reasons: 

a) Personal illness or disability; 

b) Pregnancy or pregnancy related condition; 
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c) Adoption of a child by the employee where the employee’s presence is 
required for health-related reasons; 

d) Dental or medical care; 

e) Illness or accident in the employee’s immediate family which requires 
the employee’s presence; or 

f) Death in the employee's immediate family which requires the employee's 
presence; however, sick leave used for this purpose will be limited to 40 
hours. 

2. Employees may request the use of accrued sick leave by using the DJJ approved 
methods to request leave (e.g., Leave Request Form (Attachment A) or through 
Kronos). The employee must notify his/her supervisor as soon as the need for 
sick leave is recognized.  

3. The employee will be required to contact his/her supervisor if there is a need for 
continued leave prior to the employee making the request by using the DJJ 
approved methods to request leave. 

4. The employee may be required to furnish evidence satisfactory to the immediate 
supervisor for the use of accrued sick leave.  However, the employee will not be 
required to provide evidence for the use of fewer than 17 hours of sick leave in 
any 30-day period unless he/she has demonstrated excessive or abusive use of 
sick leave.  Establishment of a pattern of excessive or abusive use of sick leave 
will include, but not be limited to, the following indicators: 

a) Frequent use of sick leave in conjunction with weekends, holidays, 
scheduled off days, or distribution of pay checks; 

b) Frequent use of sick leave when scheduled for undesirable temporary 
shifts or assignments, or during periods of peak work load; 

c) Requesting sick leave for an absence for which annual leave has 
previously been denied; 

d) Frequent occurrences of illness during the work day; 

e) Peculiar and increasingly improbable excuses; 

f) Repetitive use of fewer than 17 hours of sick leave in 30 day periods; 
and 

g) Prior written notification of failure to adhere to procedures for approval 
of leave, inappropriate attendance, or inappropriate use of leave. 
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5. If an employee is ill for 3 workdays or more during a period of annual leave, the 
period of illness may, upon presentation of satisfactory written evidence, be 
charged as sick leave.  The charges against annual leave will then be reduced 
accordingly, provided the request for substitution of sick leave for annual leave 
is filed with the immediate supervisor within 2 weeks after the employee has 
returned to duty (see Attachment A, Leave Request Form). No substitution will 
be allowed for illness that does not last for 3 workdays or more. 

6. DJJ will not pay an employee for unused sick leave at the time of separation 
from employment. 

VII. REQUEST FOR RESTORATION OF FORFEITED LEAVE 

A. A written request for restoration of forfeited leave must be submitted to the Director of 
Human Resources. The request must outline the circumstances supporting the need for 
such restoration. 

B. In the event of illness or disability that exhausts available paid leave, the Director of 
Human Resources may restore as much forfeited leave as is required by the 
circumstances of the illness or disability. This restoration will be limited to the leave 
forfeited during the current period of employment. 

C. Under qualifying circumstances, forfeited leave may be calculated as creditable service 
for retirement purposes. For specific information, contact the Employees’ Retirement 
System of Georgia. 

VIII. RESTORATION OF DIVESTED SICK LEAVE 

A. Upon returning to state employment and remaining employed for a period of two (2) 
consecutive years, non-temporary employees who have been reemployed on or after 
July 1, 2003 are eligible to regain accrued sick leave divested when their previous 
period of service ended. Divested sick leave includes any sick leave that was available 
for use at the time of the employee's last separation and does not include any sick leave 
forfeited prior to the employee's last separation.  

B. The maximum amount of divested sick leave the employee may regain is 720 hours. 
Divested leave will only be restored to the extent that the restored leave and current 
unused sick leave total 720 hours. Any balance of divested leave will remain as 
forfeited leave. An employee who requests to regain previously divested sick leave will 
be required to present satisfactory evidence of the existence of such leave along with 
an Application for Restoration of Divested Sick Leave (Attachment B).  The agency 
will determine the appropriate amount of divested sick leave to be restored. 
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IX.  PERSONAL LEAVE 

A. Employees who have accumulated more than 120 hours of sick leave as of November 
30th of any year may convert up to 24 hours of the accumulation in excess of the 120 
hours to personal leave. 

B. Personal leave will be available for use by an employee during the calendar year 
following the year of conversion. 

C. Personal leave may be used by an employee for personal reasons upon approval of the 
immediate supervisor, who will make every reasonable effort to accommodate requests 
to utilize personal leave. Personal leave will be requested by using the DJJ approved 
methods to request leave (e.g., Leave Request Form [Attachment A] or through 
Kronos). Adequate staffing coverage will take priority over the use of personal leave. 

D. Employees will normally be required to provide at least 24 hours’ advance notice of 
intent to use personal leave. 

E. Employees will be encouraged to use the personal leave throughout the year, as no 
assurances are made that staffing coverage will allow the use in the last few weeks of 
the calendar year. 

F. Personal leave will be lost and not restored to the employee if not used by December 
31 of the year in which the leave was available to the employee.  Employees returning 
from a leave of absence without pay or furlough after December 31 will not be given 
credit for previously unused personal leave. 

G. If an employee terminates employment (resignation, dismissal, death, etc.), any unused 
personal leave balance will be lost and no payment will be made for any unused 
balance. 

H. Any unused personal leave will not be creditable for calculating retirement benefits. 

X. CONFIDENTIALITY 

A. Health information of employees and their family members will be considered 
confidential.  Only Human Resources and Legal Services staff who need this 
information to perform their job duties will be given access to the information. 

B. Managers, supervisors, and human resources staff will not provide other staff the 
reason for the absence or any other information regarding the absence. Only the 
following information will be provided: 

1. The anticipated begin and end dates or anticipated duration of the leave; and 

2. Approval or denial of sick leave has been provided to an employee. 



Chapter Subject Policy # Page 

PERSONNEL ANNUAL, SICK, AND PERSONAL LEAVE 3.60 10 of 10 

 

 

C. Health information will be maintained in the employee’s health record. (See DJJ 5.9, 
Personnel Records.) 

XI. LOCAL OPERATING PROCEDURES REQUIRED:   NO 

 

 


